The Chelsea House logo

(514) 363-0657

AU DESSUS DE VOS AFFAIRES POUR L'ANNÉE SCOLAIRE

LA MAISON CHELSEA VOUS OFFRE UNE FORMULE RÉFLÉCHIE

Notre objectif est d'offrir une expérience de résidence étudiante qui inclut absolument tous les coûts dans nos prix.

Cette page a pour but d'aider les étudiants et les parents à mieux comprendre les frais de subsistance mensuels associés à la location d'un appartement ordinaire par rapport à Chelsea House.

Le loyer de base d'un appartement peut souvent être trompeur lorsqu'il s'agit de planifier votre budget mensuel total. Il y a beaucoup d'autres dépenses que les étudiants oublient souvent de considérer, ce qui entraîne des surprises désagréables à la fin du mois.

C'est pourquoi Chelsea House est un modèle tout compris, qui inclut absolument tout, sauf la nourriture et l’assurance habitation*. Cela vous donne, à vous et à vos parents, un budget facile à établir, sans aucune surprise.

Vous pensez que louer un appartement est moins cher que de séjourner à Chelsea House ? En fait, c'est plus cher.

Le premier et le plus important coût qui n'est pas pris en compte est celui de l'aménagement de l'appartement.

- Mobilier de chambre
- Literie
- Mobilier de salon
- Équipements et fournitures de cuisine (casseroles, poêles, couverts, machine à café, mixeur, etc.)

Pour chaque scénario, nous avons amorti cet investissement sur un an, deux ans et même trois ans (en divisant le coût des achats uniques, de l'équipement de cuisine et des meubles sur cette période). Chelsea House est toujours moins chère.

Il est également très important de se rappeler que meublé ≠ équipé. Si vous envisagez de prendre un appartement meublé, assurez-vous de prévoir un budget pour les achats ponctuels et l'équipement de cuisine. Ces éléments ne sont jamais inclus dans les locations d'appartements meublés ordinaires.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous ce que chaque catégorie inclut avec le calcul pour y arriver. Vous pouvez cliquer sur chaque catégorie dans la section ci-dessous pour voir une liste de ce que nous incluons et nos paniers d'achats. Nous avons choisi les options les plus économiques dans chaque catégorie.

Chelsea House est une résidence étudiante haut de gamme tout inclus, qui comprend tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour un déménagement sans souci à Montréal, ainsi que tous les services et équipements conçus pour vous permettre de vivre la meilleure expérience possible. C'est plus qu'un simple logement étudiant - c'est une expérience étudiante complète.

NOUS AVONS FAIT LE CALCUL (POUR QUE VOUS N'AYEZ PAS À LE FAIRE) !

En date de mars 2024, le coût médian de la location d'un appartement non meublé à Montréal, au Québec, est de 1 900 $. Avec ce montant, vous obtiendrez un logement vide, ce qui signifie que vous devrez le meubler. De plus, ce loyer n'inclut pas les factures de services publics. $1,900. With this amount, you will be getting a bare unit, which means that you still have to furnish it. Also, this rent amount does not include utility bills.

Source: Zumper

MATÉRIEL DE NETTOYAGE ET ARTICLES D'HYGIÈNE PERSONNELLE

Pour les produits indispensables mensuels, nous avons inclus les articles habituels pour l'hygiène personnelle et le nettoyage. 

  • Détergent pour le linge (9,97 $)
  • Eau de Javel (3,18 $)
  • Savon à vaisselle (2,84 $)
  • Savon pour les mains (2,26 $)
  • Sacs à ordures (4,29 $)
  • Mouchoirs en papier (2,26 $)
  • Éponges (5,14 $)
  • Papier hygiénique (10,61 $)
  • Ampoules électriques (1,43 $)
  • Vim (5,14 $)
  • Lingettes Lysol (6,86 $)
  • Nettoyant à plancher (4,91 $)
  • Windex (5,14 $)
  • Dépoussiéreurs Swifter (4,29 $)

Nous avons estimé les produits indispensables mensuels à 71,73$. Cela représente 860,76 $ par an ! 

Le montant du loyer ne comprend généralement pas les factures des services publics.

Voici le coût conservateur mensuel pour ces services : 

  • Buanderie de l'immeuble (Coinamatic laver 3 $ sécher 3 $, pour un total de 6$/charge) = 68,97 $
  • Internet Wifi (besoin d'une vitesse suffisamment élevée pour les cours et les examens Zoom) = 80,45$
  • Électricité, chauffage, eau chaude = 80,47$

 

TOTAL : 229,89 $ / mois

Dans cette catégorie, nous avons inclus tous les petits articles que vous devriez acheter.

Ces articles sont les suivants :

Aménagement de la chambre à coucher

  • Ensemble de draps de lit (80,43 $)
  • Ensemble de serviettes de toilette (57,44 $)
  • Housse de matelas (34,45 $)
  • Couette (74,68 $)
  • Housse de couette (60,89 $)
  • Ensemble d'oreillers (34,42 $)
  • Imprimante pour les travaux scolaires (80,44 $)
  • Cintres (16,06 $)
  • Panier à linge (22,96 $)
  • Lampe de bureau (40,20 $)

Aménagement de la salle de bain

  • Tapis de bain (19,51 $)
  • Poubelle de salle de bain (43,53 $)
  • Plongeoir (9,16 $)
  • Porte-brosse à dents (12,61 $)
  • Brosse de toilette (8,01 $)
  • Distributeurs de savon (22,92 $)

Aménagement de la cuisine et du salon

  • Vadrouille et seau (40,20 $)
  • Balai (14,91 $)
  • Serviettes de cuisine (8,02 $)
  • Aspirateur (137,92 $)
  • Fer à repasser (22,97 $)
  • Planche à repasser (20,48 $)
  • Haut-parleur Bluetooth (90,80 $)
  • Tapis d'entrée pour bottes (15,48 $)
  • Support à chaussures (52,48 $)
  • Plateau à bottes (7,91 $)
  • Extincteurs (65,41 $)
  • Poubelle de cuisine (59,71 $)
  • Poubelle de recyclage (8,51 $)

 

TOTAL : 1 162,86 $

Personne ne veut vivre dans un appartement non meublé. Meubler un appartement peut coûter très cher et prendre beaucoup de temps et d'énergie (livraison, location d'un camion de déménagement, installation et assemblage, etc.)

Même si à Chelsea House nous avons des meubles commerciaux de qualité supérieure, nous voulons nous comparer avec les articles les moins chers que vous pourriez trouver à Montréal par vous-même : 

Meubles de chambre à coucher
  • Matelas double (320,71 $)
  • Base de lit (320,71 $)
  • Table de nuit (18,38 $)
  • Unité de rangement (217,26 $)
  • Penderie (574,75 $)
  • Bureau d'étude (63,21 $)
  • Chaise d'étude (79,32 $)

Meubles de salon

  • Canapé (573,60 $)
  • Fauteuil (297,72 $)
  • Table basse (51,72 $)
  • Rideaux (41,36 $)
  • Tabourets de bar (327,61$)
  • Tapis de sol (205,76 $)
  • Coussins (11,47 $)
  • Téléviseur (503,48 $)
  • Support TV (251,74 $)

TOTAL : 3 858,79 $ 

Ce montant total n'inclut pas les frais de livraison et/ou le coût de la main d'œuvre si vous devez faire assembler vos meubles.

Bien que manger au restaurant semble être la chose la plus pratique à faire, ce n'est pas viable à long terme. C'est pourquoi vous devez absolument acheter de l’équipement de cuisine pour votre nouveau logement.

 

Notre liste d'équipements de cuisine vous amène à un total de $1,096.13. Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous pour consulter la liste complète.

EN CHOISISSANT UN APPARTEMENT PLUTÔT QU’EN REJOIGNANT CHELSEA HOUSE, VOICI CE QUE VOUS MANQUEREZ

  • Événements et activités communautaires 🔥 L'équipe de la Communauté CH organise des événements communautaires légendaires 💃 qui vous aident à briser la glace avec les autres membres, à vous faire des amis et à vous intégrer rapidement à Montréal 💪 Notre équipe de gestion planifie des événements communautaires incroyables qui vous aident à vous faire des amis et à vous intégrer plus rapidement à la ville.

  • Une mise en relation de colocataires personnalisée 🤝 Nous sommes connus pour cela ! Beaucoup de nos anciens membres se sont fait des amis pour la vie grâce à notre système de recherche de colocataires 🙂 Notre processus de recherche de colocataires est très personnalisé et vise à vous faire rencontrer des personnes en fonction de votre personnalité et de vos centres d'intérêt. La plupart de nos membres nous ont dit que la majorité de leurs amis montréalais sont des personnes qu'ils ont rencontrées à Chelsea House.

  • Salon des membres 🎱🍻 Notre fameux salon des membres est équipé d'une table de billard, d'une table de ping-pong, de sièges de bistro, de canapés, d'énormes téléviseurs muraux et de notre bar en libre-service avec machine à glaçons, rail rapide et réfrigérateurs. C'est le meilleur moyen d'échanger avec les autres membres de Chelsea, de se détendre et d'étudier dans un cadre motivant.

  • Arrivée sans stress 🧘‍♀️ - Pas besoin de faire des courses folles chez IKEA. En septembre, c'est la saison de la rentrée scolaire. Cela signifie des files d'attente interminables dans la plupart des magasins destinés aux étudiants (Walmart, IKEA, etc.). Non seulement est-ce stressant et cher, mais c'est aussi 100 fois plus difficile d'aménager votre appartement si vous n'avez pas de voiture.

  • Pas d'assemblage de meubles nécessaire 👷‍♀️🔨Maintenant que vous avez bravé le chaos d'Ikea, n'oubliez pas la partie la plus amusante de l'assemblage de tous ces meubles. Nous supposons que vous avez oublié d'emporter votre tournevis et votre perceuse. Le montage d'une armoire PAX prend en moyenne 6 heures. N'oublions pas que dans un appartement, vous aurez besoin d'au moins 8 meubles. Épargnez-vous les tracas, nous vous avons facilité la tâche.

  • Équipe de maintenance sur appel ✅ Une lumière s'est éteinte ou vos toilettes ont besoin d'être réparées ? Nous veillerons à ce que votre demande de service soit traitée rapidement. Si vous louez un appartement seul, vous devrez manquer les cours et être présent lorsque les agents d'entretien se présenteront avec leurs horaires d'arrivée larges, entre 9h et 17h....
    Sure, you may think Chelsea is a bit expensive, but this peace of mind is invaluable.

     

  • Dates d'emménagement et de déménagement flexibles Vous avez besoin de quelques semaines supplémentaires pour terminer vos examens ? Ou de quelques semaines pour profiter des activités Frosh ? Nos options de location flexibles vous permettent d'ajouter jusqu'à 2 semaines avant/après vos dates de début/fin de bail.

The Chelsea House logo

MENU

THE HIDDEN COSTS OF RENTING AN APARTMENT

WHY CHELSEA HOUSE ISN'T SO EXPENSIVE AFTER ALL.

Our goal is to offer a student housing experience that includes absolutely every cost into our price.

This page is to help students and parents get a better understanding of the monthly living expenses associated to living in a regular rental apartment versus Chelsea House.

The base rent price for an apartment can often be misleading when it comes to planning your total monthly living budget. There are many other expenses that students often forget to budget for, which leads to unpleasant surprises at the end of the month.

This is why Chelsea House is an all-inclusive model, that includes absolutely everything except your food. This gives you and your parents an easy to budget figure, that won’t have any surprises.

Think getting an apartment is cheaper than staying at Chelsea House? It’s actually more expensive.

The first and biggest cost that is not factored is the apartment setup cost.

– Bedroom furniture
– Bedding
– Living room furniture
– Kitchen equipment and supplies (pots, pans, cutlery, coffee machine, blender, etc)

For each scenario we have amortized this setup cost over a 1 year, 2 year and even a 3 year stay (so dividing the cost of your one-time purchases, kitchen equipment, and furniture over that period of time). Chelsea House is still less expensive.

Its also really important to remember that furnished ≠ equipped. If you’re planning to get a furnished apartment, make sure you still budget for one-time purchases and kitchen equipment. These things are never included in regular furnished apartment rentals.

Below you will find what each category includes with the calculation to arrive You can click each category in the section below to see a list of what we include and our shopping carts. We chose the most budget friendly options in each category.

Chelsea House is a premium all-inclusive student offer, that accounts for everything you need for a worry-free move to Montreal, as well as services and amenities tailored to getting the best experience possible. It’s more than just student living — it’s an entire student experience.

WE DID THE MATH (SO YOU DON'T HAVE TO) !

As of February 2023, the median cost of renting an unfurnished apartment in Montréal, Quebec is $1,500. With this amount, you will be getting a bare unit, which means that you still have to furnish it. Also, this rent amount does not include utility bills.

Source: Zumper

CLEANING MATERIALS AND PERSONAL HYGIENE ITEMS

For monthly consumables, we included the usual items for personal hygiene and cleaning. 

  • Laundry Detergent ($9.97)
  • Bleach ($3.18)
  • Dish soap ($2.84)
  • Hand soap ($2.26)
  • Garbage bags ($4.29)
  • Tissues ($2.26)
  • Sponges ($5.14)
  • Toilet Paper ($10.61)
  • Light bulbs ($1.43)
  • Vim ($5.14)
  • Lysol wipes ($6.86)
  • Floor cleaner ($4.91)
  • Windex ($5.14)
  • Swifter dusters ($4.29)

We estimated monthly consumables to be at $71.73. That’s $860.76 every year! 

Rent amount does not usually include utility bills.

Here is the conservative cost that these services would cost you every month: 

  • In-building laundry (Coinamatic wash 3$ dry 3$, for a total of $6/load) = $68.97
  • Wifi Internet (need a high enough speed to do Zoom classes and exams) = $80.45
  • Electricity, Heating, Hot Water = $80.47

 

TOTAL: $229.89 / month

Under this category, we included all the smaller items you’ll need to purchase and hopefully it lasts for a while.

These items include:

Bedroom Setup

  • Set of Bed Sheets ($80.43)
  • Set of Bathroom Towels ($57.44)
  • Mattress Cover ($34.45)
  • Duvet ($74.68)
  • Duvet Cover (60.89)
  • Pillow set ($34.42)
  • Printer for school work ($80.44)
  • Hangers ($16.06)
  • Laundry hamper ($22.96)
  • Desk lamp ($40.20)

Bathroom Setup

  • Bath Mat ($19.51)
  • Bathroom trash can ($43.53)
  • Plunger ($9.16)
  • Toothbrush holder ($12.61)
  • Toilet brush ($8.01)
  • Soap dispensers ($22.92)

Kitchen & Living Room Setup

  • Mop & bucket ($40.20)
  • Broom ($14.91)
  • Kitchen towels ($8.02)
  • Vacuum ($137.92)
  • Iron ($22.97)
  • Ironing board ($20.48)
  • Bluetooth speaker ($90.80)
  • Winter entrance mat for boots ($15.48)
  • Shoe rack ($52.48)
  • Boot tray ($7.91)
  • Fire extinguishers ($65.41)
  • Kitchen trash bin ($59.71)
  • Recycling bin ($8.51)

 

TOTAL: $1,162.86

Nobody wants to live in an unfurnished apartment. Furnishing an apartment can cost a lot, and also take up so much time and energy to setup (delivery, moving truck rental, installation & assembly, etc).

Even though at Chelsea House we have commercial grade furniture of higher quality, we want to compare ourselves with the lowest priced items you would be able to find in Montreal on your own: 

Bedroom Furniture
  • Double Mattress ($320.71)
  • Bedframe ($320.71)
  • Nightstand ($18.38)
  • Storage Unit ($217.26)
  • Wardrobe Closet ($574.75)
  • Study Desk ($63.21)
  • Study Desk Chair ($79.32)

Living Room Furniture

  • Sofa ($573.60)
  • Armchair ($297.72)
  • Coffee table ($51.72)
  • Curtains ($41.36)
  • Bar stools ($327.61)
  • Area Rug ($205.76)
  • Throw pillows ($11.47)
  • TV ($503.48)
  • TV Rack ($251.74)

TOTAL: $3,858.79 

This total amount does not include delivery fees and/or manpower labour cost if you need to get your furniture assembled.

While eating out seems like the most convenient thing to do, it is not sustainable in the long run. This is why you definitely need to buy kitchen equipment for your new place.

 

Our kitchen equipment list brings you to a total of $1,096.13. Click the link below if you want to see the complete list.

BY TAKING AN APARTMENT OVER JOINING CHELSEA HERE'S WHAT YOU'D BE MISSING OUT ON:

  • Community Events and activities 🔥 The CH Community team puts on legendary community events 💃 that help you break the ice with other members, make friends and integrate you into Montreal fast 💪Our management team plans legendary community events helping you make friends and integrate into the city quicker.

  • Personalized Roommate Matching 🤝 We are known for this! Many of our past members have made best friends for life thanks to our roommate matching 🙂 Our roommate matching process is a highly personalised process meant to match you with people based off your personality and interests. We take time to videocall with each one of our members and parents. We’ve been very successful at matching roommates – most of our members have told us that the majority of their Montreal friends are the people that they met at Chelsea House.

  • Member’s Lounge 🎱🍻 Our infamous members lounge is outfitted with a pool table, ping pong table, bistro seating, sofas, massive wall-mounted TVs and our self-serve bar setup with ice machine, speed rail and fridges. This is the best way to interact with the other Chelsea members, hang out and study in a motivating setting. 

  • Weekly CH Newsletter 🗞️🌍 Our weekly newsletter is the best way to keep up with everything that’s going on in the community. We’ll tell you what’s the best things happening in Montreal that weekend, as well as upcoming Community Events, our curated “Show Me The Money” job board to help you find a study gig that won’t impact your school, as well as a Member Spotlight and any Management updates. Our newsletter is sent to members and parents, to keep everyone in the loop.

  • Stress Free Arrival 🧘‍♀️ – No Crazy IKEA shopping needed. In September, it is peak Back-to-School season. This means crazy lineups at most student friendly stores (Walmart, IKEA, etc). Not only is it stressful, expensive, it’s also 100x more difficult to setup your apartment if you don’t have a car.

  • No Furniture Assembly Needed 👷‍♀️🔨. Now that you’ve braved the Ikea chaos – don’t forget the most fun part of assembling all that furniture. We’re guessing you forgot to pack your screwdriver and drill. The average PAX wardrobe unit takes 6 hours to assemble. Let’s not forget in an apartment you’ll need to get at least 8 pieces of furniture. Save yourself the hassle, we’ve made it easy for you.

  • On-Call Maintenance Team ✅ A light went out or your toilet needs repair? All you need to do is submit an service request on the Chelsea House app and *magic* its fixed for you. If you’re renting a student apartment on your own, you’ll have to miss class and be present when the maintenance people show up with their wide arrival times of between 9am and 5pm…
    Sure, you may think Chelsea is a bit expensive, but this peace of mind is invaluable.

  • Sublease Assistance 📑 Want to go home after the school year and don’t want to pay when you’re gone?? Lucky for you, we can help you find a sublease so that you can save if ever you’re going back home during June and July. **Remember ** You should stay in Montreal during in May as this is the final grading period for your papers and exams. If you leave town before final grading, you won’t be able to meet with your professor to help him understand what you really meant. This is important. **